Minnesota Learner's Permit And Driver's License Test Information
Choose Your State:
How to get a Minnesota Learner's Permit:
Did you move to a new state and want to
pass the written driving license test to
be able to get your new driver's license?
Or are you trying to get your learner's
permit for the first time so that you can
practice driving towards your driving
license? Our Driving Test and
Learnerís Permit Preparation course is
just the right weapon for you to get your
Getting the learners permit is both fun
and tough at the same time. Please read
through the information below to
understand the permit test rules,
identification requirements at DMV and the
overall process for getting your learner's
Who needs a license?
Every Minnesota resident operating a motor vehicle on public streets and highways in Minnesota needs an unexpired driver's license.
If you moved to Minnesota and hold an out-of-state license, you must obtain a Minnesota driver's license as soon as possible. If you are surrendering a valid out-of-state or Canadian operator's license, you need to pass a vision test and pay a fee to obtain your license. In some cases, you may be exempt from taking the written permit test.
How you get your license
You must be at least 18 years old to apply for Temporary Instruction Permit . If you are above 14 years and 8 months, you can enroll for Driver Education Certification. You must clear a vision test ( your vision must be at least 20/40 in the better eye) , knowledge test and pay the required fee to receive your Temporary Instruction Permit . You have to show that you understand the meaning of Minnesota traffic signs. You will also have to show that you understand traffic instructions in English. If you have difficulty in understanding English, interpreters may be provided. If you want to see how you understand the signs, take the free sample test here. To get your Drivers License, you need demonstrate satisfactory operation of a motor vehicle and clear any physical or mental examination the DMV may find necessary to gauge your ability to operate a motor vehicle safely.
Drivers licensed for the first time will be placed on probation for a minimum of three years.
A teen must be 14 years, 8 months old to enroll in a Segment 1 driver education course. After completion of the course, teen can apply for a Level 1 License at a Secretary of State office.
A teen must be at least 14 years, 9 months old to apply for the Level 1 License. A parent or legal guardian must accompany the www.Minnesota.gov/sos 19 teen to sign the application. The parent or legal guardian must sign the application or the teen driver will not be issued a Level 1 License. Please refer to Minnesota Drivers Manual for more details
Prepare for written exam
Minnesota RMV requires all applicants to pass a knowledge test with questions on Minnesota traffic laws, road signs, and rules of safe driving. Even if you have prior driving experience, you will find it difficult to pass this written exam without thoroughly studying Minnesota traffic laws and road signs.
Statistic says 70% fail their driver's license test at least once. So, we strongly encourage you to prepare well for the test. To assist you in your preparation, we have compilation of driving test questions which mimic the real DMV test questions .
Don't be another statistic. Take our Learner's Permit Test Questions preparation course Driving Test Course today and take on the test with confidence! You don't have to come back empty handed from the DMV on the Driving test day.
Documents needed for establishing identity:
Establishing proper identity is very important part of getting your learners permit. Please have the following documents ready. For further information, please visit Minnesota RMV official website.
Birth Certificate issued by state or federal authority
US Passport/ Resident Alien Card / Valid Foreign Passport with a valid United States Immigration Document
Social Security Card
Proof of residence address, such as a bank statement, utility bill, or pay stub.
Payment for application fee
Applicants transferring an Out of State driver license must present their Out of State driver license, Social Security card (or one of the other acceptable documents for social security number) AND one other form from the “Primary Listing”.
After getting your permit, when you start learning driving, you must be accompanied by someone of at least 21 years of age, with a valid license, and have at least one year of driving experience for the same type or class of vehicle you are driving. A certified driving instructor may also accompany you. The person must be seated in the car on the passenger seat next to you.
If your aim is to get a driver’s license, learners permit, motorcycle license, or commercial license, you must clear the DMV test. The DMV test is challenging and tough. Statistics indicate that about 70% fail at the first attempt. How confident do you feel about your ability to pass the DMV test on the first attempt? You do not need to come back home empty handed from the DMV if you have with you the power of our comprehensive DMV test prep course combined with our easy and step-by-step course material that is short and sweet to remember.
Welcome to DTE ® official site!!
DTE (Driving Test Experts) offers approved DMV test prep courses for all the 50 states. DTE is managed by a dedicated team of highly qualified professionals with decades of written permit test question preparation and driving test experience. We have successfully achieved top-notch quality standards with a high level of customer appreciation. At www.DrivingTestExperts.com, we offer the most accurate questions for the DMV test that closely resemble the actual DMV test.
So, don’t be surprised if the questions you practiced with show up on the DMV test day!