You must be at least 15 years old to apply for learners permit. If you are under the age of 17 you must first
successfully complete an approved driver’s training program. Then, you must also complete a Supervised Instruction Period (SIP) under Idaho’s graduated license program.
You must clear a vision test, pass a traffic laws and road signs test, and pay the required fee to receive your learners permit. You have to show that you understand and recognize of traffic control devices.
. If you want to see how you understand the signs, take the free sample test here.To get your Drivers License, you need demonstrate satisfactory operation of a motor vehicle and clear any physical or mental examination the DMV may find necessary to gauge your ability to operate a motor vehicle safely.
An approved Idaho driver-training program consists of a required Driver training is required for anyone under 17 years old who is applying for an Idaho driver’s license.
Teens: Applicants under the age of 17 years is required to have the following:
- 30 hours of classroom instruction,
- 6 hours of in-car observation in a driver-training car
- 6 hours of behind the wheel driving with a driver training instructor.
If under 17 years old, you will have to complete Graduate Drivers License program and after 6 months of violation free supervised instruction, you will get your license.